Ben John Small Technical Writing Award

Ben John Small Technical Writing Award

This award is presented to a CSI Member recognized by their peers as an outstanding technical writer and/or expert in their field.

Past Award Winners

27_57.jpg “This award is treasured because it concerns what I do in my profession. It has been a great addition to my resume and helped me as I worked toward CSI Fellowship. Just go for it!”  Mary Schofield Nowee, RA, FCSI, CCS

(2019) Larry Barger, CSI, CCS, CDT
(2018) Robert Haddock, CSI
(2015) Anne F. Whitacre, FCSI, CCS
(2010) John Guill, AIA, CSI, CCS, CCCA
(2007) Raymond Sluzas, CSI, CCS, CCCA
(2005) Mary Schofield Nowee, RA, FCSI, CCS
(2003) Sheldon Wolfe, RA, Distinguished Member, FCSI, CCS, CCCA
(2002) Richard E. Robinson, CSI, CCS
(2000) Paul Edlund, FCSI, CCS
(1999) Joseph H. Edwards, PE, CSI, CCS
(1998) Lee F. Kilbourn, FCSI, CCS
(1997) Jerry W. Durham, RA, CSI, CCS
(1996) Stephen J. Andros, CSI, CCS

Award winners are listed by fiscal year.

Ben John Small, FCSI, was a founder and former president of the Metropolitan New York Chapter of CSI and served as chairman of the Chapter’s Technical Committee. Mr. Small was a frequent lecturer at Columbia and Princeton Universities, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, and Virginia Polytechnic Institute; wrote a column for “Progressive Architecture;” and was the author of several volumes on specification writing, and use and adaptation of materials.