Ben John Small Technical Writing Award

Ben John Small Technical Writing Award

This award is presented to a CSI Member recognized by their peers as an outstanding technical writer and/or expert in their field.

Past Award Winners

27_57.jpg “This award is treasured because it concerns what I do in my profession. It has been a great addition to my resume and helped me as I worked toward CSI Fellowship. Just go for it!”  Mary Schofield Nowee, RA, FCSI, CCS

  • (2018) Robert Haddock, CSI
  • (2015) Anne F. Whitacre, FCSI, CCS
  • (2010) John Guill, AIA, CSI, CCS, CCCA
  • (2007) Raymond Sluzas, CSI, CCS, CCCA
  • (2005) Mary Schofield Nowee, RA, FCSI, CCS
  • (2003) Sheldon Wolfe, RA, Distinguished Member, FCSI, CCS, CCCA
  • (2002) Richard E. Robinson, CSI, CCS
  • (2000) Paul Edlund, FCSI, CCS
  • (1999) Joseph H. Edwards, PE, CSI, CCS
  • (1998) Lee F. Kilbourn, FCSI, CCS
  • (1997) Jerry W. Durham, RA, CSI, CCS
  • (1996) Stephen J. Andros, CSI, CCS

Award winners are listed by fiscal year.

Ben John Small, FCSI, was a founder and former president of the Metropolitan New York Chapter of CSI and served as chairman of the Chapter’s Technical Committee. Mr. Small was a frequent lecturer at Columbia and Princeton Universities, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, and Virginia Polytechnic Institute; wrote a column for “Progressive Architecture;” and was the author of several volumes on specification writing, and use and adaptation of materials.