2020 Awards Page

2020 Awards Recipients

Congratulations to the 2020 Class of Fellows and CSI Award Winners. Recipients will be honored during the virtual CSI Honors and Awards Ceremony later this fall.

Distinguished Membership
Distinguished Membership is the most prestigious honor of the Institute. It is conferred on individuals who have performed distinguished services to the construction industry in fields of activity related to the purposes of the Institute.

  • Phillip L. McDade FCSI, CCS, FASLA, DTM


Fellows of the Institute are chosen by their peers. Nominees must maintain membership for not less than five years and have notably contributed to the advancement of construction technology, the improvement of construction specifications, education, or by service to the Institute.

  • Alan Mitchell Horne Sr., CSI, CCS, CCCA, CDT®, AIA, LEED AP, NCARB, USGBC
  • Elias S. Saltz, CSI, CDT®, CCS
  • Lee Ann M. Slattery, CSI, CDT®, CCPR, LEED AP
  • Robin E. Snyder, Esq, CSI, CDT®, CCS
  • William Sundquist, CSI

Distinguished Service Award
“Distinguished Service” is defined as notable and significant contributions at the Chapter, Region, or Institute level that have furthered the mission of CSI, its standing in the industry or its image to the public. 

  • Larry Nordin, CSI, CCS, CDT, AIA

Robert P. Brosseau Award for the Advancement of CSI

This award recognizes CSI members who have been recognized by peers as leaders focused on education and the training and mentoring of students and emerging professionals.

  • Michael G. Young, FCSI, CCCA

  • Susan Bliss, CSI, CCS, CCCA, CDT

  • Jon Lattin, CSI, CDT, CCPR

Outstanding Contribution Award
This award is presented to a CSI member, Chapter, Region, or Group that has made commendable contributions that furthers the influence of CSI in the local construction industry; or that increases the visibility of CSI in the local construction industry; or that provides a value-added service to the chapter, region or Institute.

  • Cory Robbins, CSI

  • Daniel Hargreaves, FCSI, AIA, CDT

Organizational Certificate of Appreciation
This award is presented to a firm, organization, or association who, in the opinion of their peers, has provided one of the following: Exceptional accomplishments that bring CSI (at the chapter, region, or Institute levels) to the forefront of the construction industry in their respective arenas; or promotes one of the tenets of CSI – Education, Certification, or Development of Technology to benefit the construction industry; or working with the local chapter, region, or Institute to assist with their operations that provide a value-added service.

  • The Reference Library

Innovation in Construction Award

This award is presented to an individual or team who, in the opinion of their peers, innovatively developed or discovered new uses for materials, methods, technology, or project delivery systems.
  • CSI Chicago Chapter's Remote Learning Library
  • Conspectus, Inc.

Communicator of the Year Award
The Communicator of the Year Award is presented to the individual who is shown to communicate at the Institute Level through the “Communities” system. The Award is presented to the individual who provides not only a high volume of interactions but also provides content that is thought-provoking, informative, or instructional. Pure volume is not a key component of this award.

  • Kevin O’Beirne, FCIS, CCS, CCCA, CDT®

Communication Award
This award is presented to a Chapter, Region, or Organization which has implemented a comprehensive communications program, inclusive of multiple types of communications programs.

  • The Memphis Chapter of CSI

  • Grand Rapids Chapter

  • CSINext Chapter

  • CSI Chicago Chapter

  • Robert J. Bailey, CSI, CCS, AIA

The Construction Specifier Article of the Year Award
The Construction Specifier Article of the Year Award is presented to the author(s) of an original article published in the Construction Specifier Magazine during the current fiscal year. Individual articles are nominated by the Construction Specifier Magazine Editorial staff and judged by the Specifier’s Editorial Advisory Board.
  • Steven D. Marino
For the July 2019 Article “Breaking it Down: Keys to Diagnosing Glass Breakage in Buildings”

Outstanding Chapter Commendation
This award is presented to a chartered Chapter that meets the designated pre-requisite core criteria and has provided the required supplemental data.

Akron-Canton Baltimore Boston Central Pennsylvania
Charlotte Chattanooga Chicago Columbus
CSINext Dallas Denver Ft. Worth
Grand Rapids Greater Lehigh Valley Indianapolis Kansas City
Knoxville Little Rock Maine Memphis
Metro New York Minneapolis-St. Paul Mississippi Mt. Rainier
Nashville New Jersey Phoenix Portland
Puget Sound Raleigh Durham Southwest Missouri

Questions about CSI's Honors and Awards program?
Contact awards@csinet.org.

Advertise in the Honors and Awards Program Book. Learn how.